Top 10: Androids and Robots From Sci Fi Film

Top Ten Androids and Robots From Sci Fi Film

Top 10: Androids and Robots From Sci Fi Film

As you’ve probably figured out by now, I’m a huge movie/TV geek.  Particularly, I love Sci fi.  One of my favorite parts of Sci Fi is the creation of wonderful mechanical companions.  My biggest passion in life, outside of my family, is computers.  I have yet to find anything I don’t like about them (well, viruses suck, but that’s more a-hole hackers than the computers themselves, so we’ll let that slide).

Over the years I’ve played with numerous variations of hardware, building and repairing more computers than I could possibly count, and recently I’ve gotten into website and software development, programming, networking, and system administration.

What haven’t I gotten to fiddle with?  An android or robot!  I mean a true, A.I. android or robot, one that is near sentient, because, at least for now, those only exist in our beloved Sci Fi.  Because of that, I’ve decided to compile the cream of the crop, the best of the best, Top 10: Androids and Robots in Sci Fi:

10. Commander Data (Star Trek: The Next Generation Series) – Outside of his inability to master human emotion, Data was just about as lifelike as they come.  With a knowledge base to rival Wikipedia and a brain as fast as a computer (oh…wait), Data deserves a place on this list.  I’ll admit, I haven’t watched Next Generation since it ended (I want to go back and re-watch the series on NetFlix), but I always remember liking Data.

9. T-800 (Terminator 2: Judgment Day) – I specify the sequel here because even though the T-800, played by the Governator, makes an appearance in the original, it wasn’t until the sequel that it became truly B.A.  With his indestructible skeleton and monotone demeanor, this assassin turned protector blasted his way into our hearts.  The Governator’s awkward accent didn’t hurt either.

C-3PO and R2-D2 on Tatooine.

C-3PO and R2-D2 on Tatooine.

8. C-3PO (Star Wars Series) – I’m not going to lie, ‘3PO could have been at the top of this list if he wasn’t such a whiny bitch.  With near unlimited knowledge and his shiny gold exterior, it’s hard for a geek not to love this reluctant companion to the Rebel Alliance, but honestly, did the kid have to make him so bitchy?

7. Max (Flight of the Navigator) – Ah, Max, one of my favorite childhood characters.  Voiced by Pee Wee Herman (and almost as…eccentric…is that the right word?) this lovable mechanical alien made my childhood.  Not holding up quite as well as I would like (this was one of my favorite films as a kid!), but still not bad, Flight of the Navigator is an hour and a half of pure fun, almost entirely due to Max and his high jinks.

6. Bishop (Aliens) – The one companion Riply could count on until the end, Bishop is everything we want from an android.  Smart, fast thinking, and able to get you out of a bind.  Not to mention, he does some pretty cool knife tricks and bleeds white, I mean, how cool is that!  Taking such a high spot mainly because I love the movie he’s in (not because he’s really all that great as far as androids go), but he could be counted on, and that means a lot.

5. Johnny 5 (Short Circuit Series) – Another childhood favorite of mine, Johnny 5 is one of those robots I just want to own.  Funny, expressive and sometimes sarcastic, this bot (with or without armaments) deserves a top slot on this list.  Had I written this 10 years ago, he probably would have been the number 2 spot.

4. Wall-E s(Wall-E) –  Ok, I’m a dude, a sir, a guy, so this is something you won’t usually hear me say, but how fricken cute is this guy!?  This lovable little trash compactor is just too damn cute to not be toward the top of this list.  Wall-E is probably my favorite of the Pixar flicks all due to this little guy and his personality.  Who needs dialogue to make a great character?  Not this guy!  At least not for the first like 40 minutes of the film anyway.

3. Jarvis (Iron Man Series) – I’m sure Tony Stark is smart, but he wouldn’t be crap if it weren’t for Jarvis (which I know, he built, but still)!  The ultimate companion, with just the right balance of knowledge and sarcasm, if I ever went to battle, I would want Jarvis in my ear.  More a computer than an actual android or robot, but I don’t care, he fits right here in the number 3 slot because of the companionship he provides to Iron Man.

2. Marvin (Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy) – I remember loving Marvin in the books, but he saved the movie.  With a brain the size of a planet, this little white robot is just about the only reason HHGTTG wasn’t a complete flop in my mind.  While all the other characters are loveable in their own right, you can’t help but want to just give Marvin a hug, on top of that, though, his intelligence and cunning are not to be trifled with, as he proves time and time again, just because he’s small, doesn’t mean he can’t beat you.

Two R2-D2s

Last year I got to see 2 real life R2-D2s when a couple of guys from the Astromech Builders Club (http://astromech.net/)brought them to a local event.

1. R2-D2 (Star Wars Series) – OK, I’ll admit, I’m biased, R2 always has and always will be at the top of my robot/droid/computer list.  I love the little white squeaker!  Dubbed the most vulgar character in any film (every word he ever said was beep out!), this guy knows everything, can fix anything, and will get you out of any jam.  Even if he is only 3 feet tall.  Without any weapons save his wit, this little astromech could, and should, be credited with toppling the Empire.  Say what you will about the Ewoks, but the Rebellion would have completely collapsed if it wasn’t for this little guy.

So there you have it, my Top 10: Androids and Robots From Sci Fi Film.  What do you think?  Do you agree with my pics or are there some I’ve missed?  Let me know in the comments, and I’ll catch you guys next time!

May the Force be ever in your favor.

Enhanced by Zemanta

One thought on “Top 10: Androids and Robots From Sci Fi Film

  1. Pingback: Top 10: YouTube Channels For Geeks | Is My Geek Showing?

Comments are closed.